Navigator
Online Users

In total there are 4 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests

Most users ever online was 72 on Sat Jul 06, 2013 4:32 am

Registered users: Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

Last Online
In order to view the online list you have to be registered and logged in.

We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.

Click here to Register

DOCSIS/RF Newbie Question

This is where we talk about all things DOCSIS. :)

DOCSIS/RF Newbie Question

PostAuthor: collangm » Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:52 am

Hi,
I'm fairly new to the DOCSIS arena and am having trouble understanding a few, what I consider to be, key points relating to the DOCSIS RF spectrum and availability to services over an HFC Cable network.

1. What is (or is there any) separation between each adjacent Downstream or Upstream channel in the DOCSIS/EuroDOCSIS spectrum?

(DOCSIS uses 6MHz and EuroDOCSIS 8MHz channel widths for downstream as a example. What is the spacing between each channel and is this spacing (if present) the same for all Upstream channel widths? i.e. 200KHz-6400KHz).

2. The DOCSIS/EuroDOCSIS specified operating frequeny bandwidth range is between 5MHz and 862MHz. This is split into Upstream (5MHz-42 or 65MHz) and Downstream (55MHz (108MHz for data) to 862MHz). Within this frequency band sits FM radio, Analogue TV, Digital TV and a host of other potential invasive services (such as mobile phones). With this in-mind, what are the actual realistic and usable frequencies that can be used by DOCSIS in both U/S and D/S that do not interfere with or operate in the same frequency bands? (I.e. TV (analogue and digital) both have strict frequency bands).

3. Are any of the above documented anywhere as the specifications to not make mention of this and simply indicate the entire spectrum available to 'Cable-based' delivery systems?

Many Thanks,

Gary

[Sub-Note]: